_D3A0765

An October visitor, Red-tailed hawk / Buteo jamaicensis, in the pine tree above my front porch.

I’m really a plant devotee, but became interested in photographing birds because of an extraordinary student at California State University San Marcos where I teach. Clarissa McCallum is a birder and phenomenal photographer.

My definition of a birder is one who hears the bird before she sees it. One who is patient. Very, very patient. I went out shooting with Clarissa. She was always in place for the shot, whereas I was still looking for the bird. Where is it?

For a final project in an advanced class, Clarissa produced a book on the birds of San Diego County. It’s still available on blurb.com.  Check it out here: Birds I View. If you’re living in southern California, forget traveling to an exotic locale. Clarissa will convince you that San Diego is a birder’s paradise, as well as a plant person’s. Below is Clarissa’s photo of cedar waxwings, Bombycilla cedrorum, one of her favorite birds, resting on sycamore branches.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 8.12.00 PM

Posted by deborah small

One Comment

  1. That photo is almost unreal. The sheen she captured on the birds breasts is marvelous.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment