Basket weaver Abe Sanchez asked me to let everyone know that on Saturday and Sunday, April 16 & 17, he is helping to host basket weavers and wood carvers from the Seri/Comca’ac Women’s Artisans Cooperative from Desemboque and Punta Chueca on the Sea of Cortez in Sonora, Mexico at the Cabot’s Pueblo Museum in Desert Hot Springs.

Many Comca’ac women are master basket weavers, and in the photo above, they’re doing a basket dance around one of their stunning baskets.

Seri baskets and jewelry in the photo above. Click here for more images.

Seri artists also are renowned for their ironwood carvings, such as the hummingbird above.

Ironwood, Olneya tesota, is one of the hardest of all woods to carve, and the ironwood trees themselves are now protected. The Ironwood Alliance was established to protect ironwood habitat and associated wildlife, as well as to protect the intellectual property rights of Seri artisans.

For more images and information about ironwood carvings, click here.

Posted by deborah small

8 Comments

  1. Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web page, and paragraph is truly fruitful for me, keep up posting these articles or reviews.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m
    very happy I came across this during my hunt
    for something concerning this.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is amazing, nice written
    and come with almost all vital infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

    Like

    Reply

  4. You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the web for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

    Like

    Reply

  6. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. cheers

    Like

    Reply

    1. deborah small April 3, 2011 at 8:55 am

      hi, it’s a wordpress.com theme. just go to their site, and you can set up a blog in about a minute. good luck!

      New comment on your post “Seri Artisans at the Cabot’s Pueblo Museum” > Author : Wallpaper (IP: 69.162.82.9 , hrtriton.net) > E-mail : Kneeland88@gmail.com > URL : http://www.megawallpaper.net > Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/69.162.82.9

      Like

      Reply

  7. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains. If you know of any please share. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

