Coyote mint, Monardella villosa, makes a nice tea. Besides being irresistible to bees, coyote mint is a butterfly magnet. According to Katherine Siva Saubel and Lowell Bean in Temalpakh, Cahuilla people made a tea for the relief of stomachaches. You can purchase coyote mint at Las Pilitas in San Diego County and Tree of Life Native Plant Nursery in Orange County.

I’m growing one plant for tea in my kitchen garden on my deck, and a couple of coyote mints in my garden for the butterflies and bees, along with other native mints, including yerba buena, Satureja douglasii; the rare San Diego willowy mint, Monardella linoides ssp. viminea; and mountain mint, Monardella odoratissma.

Posted by deborah small

5 Comments

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought
    I might as well check things out. I like what I see so
    now i am following you. Look forward to looking at your web page again.

    Like

    Reply

  2. […] California. Also cultivated as an ornamental, it’s a great “butterfly magnet,” according to Deborah Small’s Ethnobotany Blog, and its tea can relieve a […]

    Like

    Reply

  3. Hello-
    Can this plant be used as an herb in cooking?
    jrocchio@sfsu.edu

    Like

    Reply

  4. deborah small July 7, 2010 at 7:50 am

    thanks julia. i’m constantly learning about these wonderful plant medicines as well.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Julia A Rivers July 6, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    thanks, I am learning alot obout medicines from your postings.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

