Posted by deborah small

12 Comments

  1. Is this spider poisonous? And if it is what do you do if it bites you?

    Like

    Reply

  2. I think this is bugger that bit my daughter today. Very painful, like stabing needles in her finger. keeping an eye on her.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Have had 1 of these living on my patio for a while. Tampa, Fl

    Like

    Reply

  4. Mary Ann Martorana June 21, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    My daughter picked up this spider on her camping gear after camping near Pollock Pines CA. He is now living in our garden in Sacramento.

    Like

    Reply

  5. We found a jumping spider in the sandbox in our Kindergarten play yard. We have looked at it and will release it to a safer spot.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Just saw one of these in my apartment gym (in La Jolla), it dropped down next to me from the ceiling which was a bit of a shock, but I put it outside. Thanks for helping me figure out what type of spider it was!

    Like

    Reply

    1. Your welcome. But it was really Jennifer from the Living Desert Museum in Palm Desert who ID’d the spider. Incredible little creature, isn’t it!

      Like

      Reply

  7. We just found one like this one, too. Does anyone know what kind of spider it is?

    Like

    Reply

    1. hi karen,
      jennifer from the living desert museum in palm desert ID’d the spider as a jumping spider, Phidippus adumbratus. she also sent a link at: http://nathistoc.bio.uci.edu/spiders/Phidippus%20adumbratus.htm
      deborah

      Like

      Reply

  8. Me again I forgot to add the spider link!. See http://nathistoc.bio.uci.edu/spiders/Phidippus%20adumbratus.htm

    Jennifer

    Like

    Reply

  9. Dear Deborah,
    I love your blog too; it is excellent! Just in case you haven’t id the spider.. I asked my boss and he told me it is one of the jumping spiders. He went on to say that they have a very interesting courtship ritual. I haven’t had a chance to read up on them yet but am looking forward to. They are funny looking in a very adorable way!
    Thank you again for your wonderful and educational blog. BTW, I ordered one of the calenders!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Wow that is a scary spider!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

