On Sunday, Rose Ramirez, Abe Sanchez, and Marian Walkingstick travelled in the San Diego County back country to gather rose hips. Marian, an intrepid Acjachemen elder, is pictured above standing deep in a rose thicket.

Rose hips, the fruit of the wild rose, are filled with tiny seeds covered with tiny hairs, which are better to remove before eating the raw hips. It’s pretty easy to scoop out the seeds. Rose hips, according to several sources, are one of the richest plant sources of Vitamin C, with more Vitamin C than citrus fruits. One source claims that three rose hips are the equivalent of one orange in Vitamin C.

Posted by deborah small

4 Comments

  1. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog
    and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful information particularly the remaining phase 🙂 I handle such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Samantha Iacobello February 8, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Hi Deborah,

    I am very interested in attending these events of gathering. I am an Anthropology student at UCLA researching Kumeyaay ethnobotany and Southern CA flora. Please contact my email if I may attend and to discuss my research interests, which I feel you would be very helpful.

    Thank you

    Like

    Reply

  3. Erin Giesbrecht November 1, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Hi Deborah,
    I just wanted to ask your permission to use one of your photos in a presentation for a class. It’s a class on First Nations in British Columbia, Canada where I am from. I will cite you as the source of the photo. I just wanted to ask permission.
    Thank you
    Erin Giesbrecht
    erin-giesbrecht@mytru.ca

    Like

    Reply

    1. hi erin, yes, you have my permission to use the photo. thank you for asking! deborah

      New comment on your post “Rose hips / Rosa californica / chokecherries” > Author : Erin Giesbrecht (IP: 66.183.230.164 , 66.183.230.164) > E-mail : erin-giesbrecht@mytru.ca > URL : > Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=66.183.230.164

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

